Home / CELEBS / UPZ To Realese An Album Titled “Drop It”

UPZ To Realese An Album Titled “Drop It”

Album Drop It


Album Drop It

Coming out this Friday 27th October, internationally renowned producer that brought us Mzansi classics Pure Surprise, Uzongilinda, Believing & What’s The Point plus collabs with Black Motion, Cuebur, Black Coffee and more, returns with a brand new album titled ‘Drop It’ with track features incl. Sió, BlackwHole, Thantaswa, Mariechan, Proverb, Pearl, Lifford, Chris Rouse, Shantéh, Obi Sanaa & Jocelyn Mathieu.

Drop It, the new album by marks a step forward in the director of the South African/Israeli producer & DJ. Not content with the tried & trusted, experiments and ventures into new sonic avenues whilst continuously extending his collaboration tentacles.

House music textures may lay the foundation of the album, but is not shy to explore the different terrains within the genre; from afro house beats to fusing elements of soul, hip hop, nu disco and Jamaican dub. Most apparent when listening to Drop It is UPZ’s penchant for vocals and songwriting; the album sees him collaborating with both well known & up-coming artists from South Africa and abroad…BlackwHole, Lifford, Proverb, Mariechan (Jamali), Jocelyn Mathieu, Siò, Thantaswa, Pearl, Shanteh, Obi Sanaa and Chris Rouse.

READ ALSO:   Bet9ja Sure Winning Booking Code For Today April Wednesday 13/04/2018

Beyond the mere exploration of universal themes of love, relationships and the “feel-good”, Drop It fnds UPZ and co lyrically tap into topics of social relevance & mystique specifically with tracks like Drop It (feat Thantaswa), Sangoma’s Theme (feat Lifford), And In Time (with BlackwHole) and A Dream Away (with Siò, award-winning vocalist of 1000 memories with Julian Gomes).

Concurrently UPZ crafts his production with the dance-floor in mind, with plenty of groove appeal throughout. Disco Girl & Magic With You explore nu disco sonic aesthetics, whilst Take Me Away (feat Shanteh), Unbreakable (with Pearl) and Say What U Want (feat Mariechan & Proverb) convey afro-soul influenced rhythms.

2017 is a milestone in that it marks UPZ’s 10th anniversary. UPZ’s 2007 self-titled debut (Japan, Rambling Records) featured his breakout single “Pure Surprise” which secured him a no.1 hit in South African in 2009.

In 2012 UPZ’s album “Pioneers of House: UPZ” (Soul Candi) included production collaborations with Black Coffee, Black Motion & Qness. Support for UPZ productions have poured in from leading DJs including Fresh, Euphonic, Vinny Da Vinci, Black Coffee, Louis Vega & DJ Kent and his releases have graced powerhouse labels Defected, Strictly Rhythms and Objektivity.

READ ALSO:   Bet9ja Sure Winning Booking Code For Today March Thursday 22/03/2018

Born in Tel Aviv, UPZ moved to Nairobi, Kenya with his family at the age of five and two years later relocated to South Africa. After graduating from WITS, he decided to pursue his passion for music upon moving back to Tel Aviv, Israel.

Africa, however, continuously beckoned and UPZ returned to SA in 2014 & currently resides in Johannesburg.

This album has been over two years in the making” says UPZ of Drop It “ I feel truly happy with the direction the album has taken and was honored to have worked with some great artists, songwriters and vocalists in it’s formation.

Drop It contains ten new tracks, some of which have already been charted nationwide on leading radio stations (Sangoma’s Theme, Say What U Want) plus a bonus track, the new remix of Pure Surprise (2017 Sunrise Mix) currently on high rotation on channels, MTV base, Trace Urban and charted on multiple radio stations.

READ ALSO:   DOWNLOAD VIDEO: Wizkid & Olamide Shut Down Everywhere With “Wo” Performance At Wizkid’s Concert

Drop It will be available via soWHAT Records on all digital platforms from October 27th, 2017 (itunes pre-order link)




  1. Disco Girl – UPZ feat Jocelyn Mathieu - DOWNLOAD
  2. Drop It – UPZ feat Thantaswa - DOWNLOAD
  3. Sangoma’s Theme – UPZ feat Lifford - DOWNLOAD
  4. A Dream Away – Sió & UPZ - DOWNLOAD
  5. Magic With You – UPZ feat Chris Rouse - DOWNLOAD
  6. Take Me Away – UPZ feat Shantéh - DOWNLOAD
  7. And In Time – BlackwHole & Obi Sanaa (co-prod UPZ) - DOWNLOAD
  8. Village Ghetto Style – UPZ feat Chris Rouse  - DOWNLOAD
  9. Unbreakable – UPZ feat Pearl - DOWNLOAD
  10. Say What U Want (Afro Mix) – UPZ feat Mariechan & Proverb - DOWNLOAD
  11. Pure Surprise (Sunrise Mix) – UPZ feat DKP - DOWNLOAD

[the_ad id="2074"]



For Music promotion or Advert Placement on MP3GIST.COM Please kindly Mail Us => info@mp3gist.com